Skip to content

Gluten free goodness

May 18, 2011

I know it’s been awhile, again.  Sorry, but I do have a recipe to share with you…that makes up for it, right?

This is for all those people out there who have tummy’s that can’t process gluten. I now know several people who have this issue, so I’ve become more aware of recipes that exclude gluten.  When I saw this particular recipe from Southern Living Magazine’s December 2010 issue, it caught my eye.  My friend Lani, who you’ll remember from this post, recently cut out gluten from her diet, so I wanted to give these cookies a try so that she can still enjoy some chocolate chip cookies on occasion.
I had my doubts, but these are really tasty.  Super moist and chewy, just like any good cookie should be.  So if your tummy is a flour fan or not, you should give these a try.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Southern Living, December 2010

i n g r e d i e n t s :

1 cup reduced fat creamy peanut butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

d i r e c t i o n s :

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine peanut butter, sugar, egg, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl . Stir in chocolate chips.

2.  Drop rounded tablespoons of the dough two inches apart on parchment paper or silpat sheets.

3. Bake for 12 to 14 minutes or until lightly browned.  Cool for 5 minutes before transferring onto a wire rack.  Allow to cool for 15 more minutes.

* * *

PRINT 4 x 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

If chocolate isn’t your thing, the base of this cookie allows you to try any mix in.  Throw in some pecans, or cranberries, or toffee bits.  Whatever suits your taste.  Let me know if you try a variation or if you have more gluten-free recipes for me to try!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

