Skip to content

Easy Chicken Mozzarella

May 5, 2011

It’s been a while.  I have to apologize, but lately I haven’t been doing anything worthy of posting  (aka my day job has gotten busy thankfully, so I’m left with little “free” time).  I’m not certain that this post is “worthy” either, but my hope is it will get me back in the blogging spirit.  So this is a simple post of a simple recipe I threw together for dinner the other night.  It’s inspired by every restaurant’s staple: Chicken Parmesan.  In fact, when I began typing up the recipe, that’s what I named it, until I realized I didn’t use any Parmesan cheese.  I only used Mozzarella, and I’m not sure if restaurants use Parmesan AND mozzarella or not, but I did not.  But it was still delicious. So hope you enjoy, and I hope to have more regular posts soon.

Easy Chicken Mozzarella

i n g r e d i e n t s :

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 cup flour
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 tbsp milk or water
2 cups Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs
2 tsp olive oil
1 jar marinara sauce
1/2 lb whole wheat pasta
Salt, to taste
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella

d i r e c t i o n s :

1. Butterfly each chicken breast.  Cover with plastic wrap and pound to about 1/4 inch thick.  Cover with flour and set aside.  In a large saute pan, heat olive oil to medium high.

2.  In a large plastic bag, combine beaten eggs and water or milk.  On a large plate or shallow dish, pour the bread crumbs into the bottom.  Dip floured chicken filets into the egg mixture, and then coat with bread crumbs.  Cook over medium high for 3 to 4 minutes on each side, until golden brown and cooked through.  You may need to cover with a lid to ensure the inside cooks.

3.  In a large pot, bring roughly 5 cups of water to a boil.  Season water with salt.  Once boiling, cook your pasta until al dente.  Directions should be on the package.  Once cooked, drain and reserve.

4. Once chicken is cooked, make a bed of pasta on each plate.  Spoon about 1/2 cup of marinara over the pasta.  Top with a chicken filet.  Spoon a tablespoon of marinara over the chicken and finally finish with a pinch of mozzarella (or two slices).

5. In a broiler, brown the cheese until it begins to bubble, about 3 minutes.

* * *

PRINT 4 x 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

