Skip to content

Natural Cream – the winning color

April 29, 2011

Back in this post, I had a cry for help in selecting a color for our downstairs den. I tried several colors as you may remember for this image I posted before:

After several suggestions, I headed back to the Benjamin Store and grabbed as many cream and tan swatches as I could find and forced myself to pick one.  Here’s the result:

We went with Benjamin Moore’s Natural Cream, and I really think it was exactly what I had pictured in my mind.  It’s just a soft neutral which I think is a lovely pair to the terra cotta tiles and brown sectional.  The previously wood stained trim is now sporting a clean coat of white paint, which also helped the room feel larger.  Here’s a larger shot before we painted:

and after (please pardon the mess – our house is a zoo right now)

Pretty big difference, right?  You better say yes, because priming and painting all that trim plus the walls was a beast.  Now I’m working on artwork.  Did you notice the frames on the wall behind the sectional?

I found those frames at Big Lots of all places.  They are just a wooden frame but they have a great mat for 5 x 7s and for only $9/piece.  I haven’t thought of some artwork for them yet, but I’ve got the itch for another diy project.  Thank you all for your help guiding my paint color steps to this perfect shade of cream!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2011 6:05 pm

    Looks SO great!!

  2. Anna permalink
    May 1, 2011 7:56 pm

    OK you get major props for this room! When I saw it when you first moved in I was having a very hard time picturing what to do with it. The floors threw me off big time. But after this post, it looks so great! You have done a great job and all the furniture makes it look very cozy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

