Skip to content

Macaroon Madness

April 18, 2011

A couple of weeks ago I talked about my introduction to the world of macaroons by my friend Kasi in this post.  Since then, I’ve been checking out a few recipes to learn about how to make them. There are a multitude of variations, but my love for almond flavored anything honed me in on this recipe on Martha Stewart’s web site.  I wanted to bake them of course, but more than that, I was being driven to get to photograph the finished product.  These delicious treats do require a bit of time, and materials – you must have a large size piping bag, large coupler and large round pastry tip.  I didn’t have one so I used the bag only which created more oval-shaped macaroons, but I’ll be buying one for future attempts.  I also didn’t know before, but after piping out the macaroons, dip your finger in a bit of water and push down the little point that is formed to allow for a smoother surface on the top, which will help them sit flat.

Anyway, after baking them, making the Swiss Meringue buttercream icing and assembling the cookies, I got a mini studio set up (which consisted of a kitchen chair with a large drawing pad and tablecloth draped over it) and got to shooting.  I thought a chocolate-brown and pink background would look great, so here are my attempts with food photography…hope you enjoy this feast for your eyes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 3:28 pm

    I too stumbled upon macaroons. I haven’t made them and honestly I think I’ll never make them. I’m not much of a baker. I’m more of a cook 🙂 I posted a video that Sandra Bullocks sis makes

Leave a Reply

