Skip to content

My Drapery Dream Come True

April 15, 2011

This post is a long time coming, which is probably why I’m so excited to finally share it!  While we were still in Columbia, my friend Anna came over and gave me some suggestions and ideas for decorating.  A few weeks later she made a trip to an awesome fabric store in Raleigh and she saw a bolt of fabric that she thought would work perfectly in my living room and her sweet self was kind enough to get it for me.  It’s a very unique pattern that I love, and I’ve been dying to use it somewhere.  I didn’t know if I should recover some chairs, or make pillows, or drapes….  As I pondered on this decision, we decided we were going to move to Spartanburg for Scott’s job, so I decided to keep the fabric in tact until we bought a new house and figure out what to do with it then.

Fast forward and here we are at our new house.  I quickly decided the fabric would look best in our formal living room, and I used it to base my decisions for the wall color and the mantel.  I thought a bit of the pattern down the side of each drape paired with some brown fabric would look great while balancing the brown mantle that’s opposite the window.  So I got some brown fabric from Hobby Lobby and attempted to sew the drapes.

I couldn’t do it.  I didn’t have the space to spread all the fabric out, I didn’t know how to hem, I couldn’t get things square…it was awful!  I gave up and folded the fabric and put it away for a month until my mother-in-law offered to help me out.

Luckily Pam knows how to sew, and has made so many costumes and clothes and drapes that it would blow your mind.  She basically sewed them for me, and I’m happy to give her all of the credit because I do not intend to sew drapes ever again (though I am going to try some pillows with your help Katelyn!).  So here is a shot of our living room window without any drapes:

I took this one the night Scott hung the drapery rod, so it’s a bit darker:

Here’s my handsome man with his power drill…

and for some more eye candy:

So here they are hung up!

Aren’t they fabulous?  It adds so much warmth to the room.  I am in love with the pattern, so thank you Anna for your good eye and gifting me such beautiful fabric, and thank you Pam for sewing them into some gorgeous drapes!

So it took almost a year for this drapery dream to come to fruition, but it was well worth the wait.  Do you have an example where drapes or window coverings completed a room?  I want details!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 9:56 am

    Gosh drapery/curtains/blinds in any form are the WORST. So difficult to get – I´m happy you finally found a solution! It took me a good 3 months to find mine so I feel your pain! 🙂 Enjoy!!!

  2. Anna permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:51 pm

    OH I love them! They are exactly how I imagined for your room when I found the fabric. It just looked like you! Great job! 🙂

    And you know that I have had inspiration and draperies changed my rooms. I need to post mine too!

  3. caroline permalink
    April 16, 2011 7:00 am

    Absolutely beautiful!!! Not that this matters – but one of my favorite patterns!

  4. August 6, 2011 1:22 am

    Wow! Lovely! It blends well with the room. Well, customized one are always the best comapred to ready made. Home sweet home. 🙂 For my home, draperies Pittsburgh worked well.

  5. Summer permalink
    October 15, 2011 12:10 am

    I like how the pattern pops with the daylight behind it like back-lit stained or leaded glass!

    Extend the pole a tad (additional supports, if necessary), so that the edges of the window don’t show (see second-to-last photo).

    Just a personal preference, but I would have installed the pole just above the top molding of the window.

    But it looks great, and the room looks beautiful!

    • November 11, 2011 7:54 am

      Summer – I agree about extending the pole past the edges, but sadly, the window is so long and that was the longest rod we could find without a customized size and price to match, so we decided to make due. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

