Skip to content

your turn: Antique Wooden Sign

March 28, 2011

After my visit to the antique store mentioned in this post, I had the itch to hang an antique sign in my house somewhere.  While at the antique store I saw plenty of old signs, but they can be really pricey if they’re real, and if you buy the new ones that look “old” they never really look old.

When we moved into our house and discovered the unfinished basement, it was full of treasures.  The previous owners left a really neat twin size wooden headboard, old gallon glass jugs, an old chair, some wooden crates and tons of random pieces of leftover lumber.  There was one piece in particular that caught my eye and came to mind when I decided I could make myself a cheap vintage sign.  Luckily I remembered to warn the hubs not to cut it to pieces after I gave him a table saw for his birthday…

It’s just a plain old board that was once painted white, but after years of wear, beautifully shows off the grain in the wood.  This was the perfect piece to create a sign from. In an episode of Sarah’s House, she hung a sign in the kitchen that I loved.

So I decided this project was going to benefit my kitchen.  I thought of copying the “Lunch served today” but the shape of my long skinny board wasn’t appropriate.  I settled on “Fresh Produce 5¢.”  So I went to my computer and made a template.  The font I used is one of my favorites: It’s called Phaeton.   Then I printed it out.

Then comes the hard part.  Cutting out the letters.  If you’re confident enough, you could just free hand some letters, but I wanted this to look real, and my handwriting doesn’t look vintage at all.  So I got out my exacto knife, and with the skills I acquired in my fine arts classes, I cut out each letter to form a stencil.

Then I just traced the letters with a pencil onto the board.

I used some leftover paint from painting our mantel chocolate-brown.  But I made a mistake that turned out to be a blessing.  It’s been a while since I painted the mantel, and the paint had separated a bit, but I didn’t stir it up.  As I was painting, some of the paint was more transparent in areas and more opaque in others, and it helped give the letters a more vintage feel. Once I let it dry, I rested it on the door frame in the kitchen.

I have to figure out a way to hang it, but for now, this is where it lives.

Now my kitchen’s side door is lookin’ so cute!  Do you like my little wreath I found?  Got it from Marshall’s for $15!  Have you ever crafted a “vintage” sign?  Send me some links to your posts, or pictures of your project.  I’d love to see!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi Graves permalink
    March 28, 2011 8:28 am

    LOVE IT! I have one I found many years ago. It say, “And they lived happily ever after.” You are so talented! Looking forward to seeing you this weekend!

  2. Laura Engel permalink
    March 28, 2011 8:29 am

    LOVE this. definitely borrowing this idea 🙂

  3. April 13, 2011 10:44 am

    Your sign turned out really nice! Just a thought on hanging it we like to use 3M command stuff because you can remove them, and no nails.

  4. May 9, 2011 3:34 pm

    I’m finally catching up on blogs and saw this one. The sign in Sarah’s House episode is one of my favorites! If I had the space I’d totally have that in my house somewhere but alas, the small home isn’t conducive to the signage yet . Maybe one day! Looks great!

Leave a Reply

