Skip to content

And the award goes to…

March 24, 2011

Yesterday I got an award!  I’m not sure if I deserve it (and I most likely don’t) but I’m excited to pass it along to a few of my fellow bloggers out there.  The award came from my new-found friend Heidi, and it’s the Stylish Blogger Award. Thanks Heidi!  If you hadn’t received it already, you would be on my list to pass the award along to!

I’m not sure I’ve ever been considered stylish, but it’s something I aspire to be.  As a recipient of the award you must perform four duties:

1.  Thank and link back to the person who awarded you this award.

2.  Share 7 things about yourself.

3.  Award 15 recently discovered great bloggers.

4.  Contact these bloggers and tell them about the award.

So in order to receive the award, I have to share seven facts about myself (I’m choosing things I think most people don’t know about me), and pass along some award love, so here goes:

Seven random facts:

1. I was born in Germany.

Nuremberg to be exact.  My parents were stationed there for several years so that’s where we lived until I was around 21 months old.  Yes, it was on American soil so I am an official US citizen.  I obviously don’t remember it, but I’d love to visit sometime and see where Mom and Dad called home while I was a tiny little thing.

2. I’m double jointed.

Everyone has a cool human trick they can do.  I can put my hands behind my back, latch my fingers together and without separating my hands, bring them around my head to the front of my body.  It’s very strange-looking and I’m sure I’m going to have arthritis one day in my shoulders and elbow joints from doing it, but it’s a trick that could win an award itself.  You know how they say you can’t lick your own elbow?  False.  I can do that too.  Back when I was quite young, and our family would have human trick competitions, I’d also entertain them by putting one foot behind my head and doing push ups.

3. I always hear music.

I don’t know if this is normal or not, but I constantly have songs playing in my head.  I wake up every morning with a new song, and it can be a song I haven’t heard in years!  I know everyone gets a song stuck in their head from time to time, and that happens to me occasionally, but does anyone else just have a song playing in their head throughout the day?  I seem to have the best days when I wake up with a religious son in my head..How Great is our God by Chris Tomlin, or Come Thou Fount are some favorites.  This is probably the reason I like to play music constantly…it drives Scott crazy.

4. I’ve never been further North than D.C.

I took a field trip to Washington D.C. when I was in middle school but have never gone further north.  I would love to visit any of the New England states some day, preferably in the summer months when the weather’s bearable.

5. I never wanted to be a graphic designer.

Growing up I went through several ideas of what I wanted to be when I was an adult, as most children do.  At one point I wanted to be an animal psychologist so I could speak sign language to gorillas (I even got a sign language book and learned some words).  I wanted to be an orthodontist to help fix people’s smiles.  I wanted to be a forensic artist who can sketch faces from skulls but when I went and shadowed an artist, they told me I’d have to go through police academy and carry a gun, so I changed my mind.  I wanted to own a bakery (still do at times) and wanted to name it “decadent desserts” but I never thought I’d become a graphic designer until my senior year of college.

6. I am a huge cry baby.

I cry.  Often. It’s so bad I tear up if someone on television is tearing up.  I feel people’s emotions as if they’re my own so if I see you crying, I’ll be crying with you – literally.  I am very sensitive and any unkind word can have me crying for days.  I cry when I’m happy and when I’m frustrated and when I’m sad.  My husband deserves some “best shoulder to cry on” award for all the “snibbling” he’s had to listen to in the eight years he’s known me. My pillow always has mascara marks on it.  Growing up Mom always knew it was time for me to wash my sheets based on how much mascara was covering my pillowcase.  On average I probably cry at least twice a week.  Lately with my loneliness and dealing with so much change I’ve upped the ante to about every other day.  Poor Scott…

7. I love elephants.

I have always had a thing for elephants.  When I was four years old, my family went to San Francisco to visit family.  We made a trip to the San Diego zoo and I got to ride an elephant with my dad.  I remember that day like it was yesterday, and I believe it’s why I’m drawn to anything that’s shaped like an elephant.

So that wraps it up for me.  Here are the bloggers I’d like to pass along the stylish blogger award to:

1. Anna at Food Faith and Design

2. Caroline at Life on Lakestreet

3. Kathryn at Love and Baked Spaghetti

4. Ebonn at bumble & dola

5. Gabbi at We Love Food

6. Dawn at Everyday Ordinary Dawning

8. Christa at Je M’appelles

(most of my bloggers out there that I read have already received this award: Heidi, Brantley, Ashley, Katie, Nicole, Sherry, Jules and Sabra)

Check all of these blogs…they are all awesome!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

