Skip to content

your turn: Burlap Wreath

March 21, 2011

I have been on a hunt for the perfect front door wreath since we moved into our house.  To me a door is much more inviting if it has a nice round form covered in dried leaves or flowers on it.  I have not had any luck finding something, but I came across a project on Tatertots and Jello’s blog.  It was a cute wreath made from a form covered in fabric scraps and burlap.  I have a lot of burlap leftover from Scott’s law school graduation party where I used the burlap as tablecloths, so I thought this would be the perfect project for me.  Using the 40% off coupons you get in the newspaper I picked up a 14″ wreath form from Michael’s, and some of the bedazzled brads she suggested.  I didn’t have coordinating fabric so I bought some from Quilt Taffy on Etsy and was ready to get crafting.  Here’s the steps if you’d like to make your own (and you can reference Tatertots and Jello’s blog to see how she did it also.)

First you’ll need to gather up all of your supplies.

You’ll need a wreath form, at least a yard of burlap, fabric scraps, scissors, a hot glue gun, brads and or buttons, and one six-inch length of coordinating ribbon.

Start with your form:

Cut a three-inch strip from the longest length of your burlap.  Hot glue the end to the form and wrap it around, slightly overlapping, to completely cover the form.  Secure the end with another dab of hot glue.

I like the look of this after just the first step.  You could stop here and add some felt flowers or a big ribbon and call it a day.  Or you can keep going.  The next step if quite labor intensive and makes a mess.  You’ll need to cut 50 three-inch circles and 50 two-inch circles from the burlap.  The burlap sheds fibers everywhere, so you may want to pick a spot that’s easy to clean after you’re finished.

I should say that they do not have to be perfect.  Most of my “circles” were more like ovals or eggs.  You’ll want to do the same with your fabric.  We have a red front door, so with spring around the corner and red and green being complimentary colors, I thought a hint of green in my wreath would be gorgeous.  Here’s the coordinating fabric that I got from Quilt Taffy.

I love that it has some bright spots of blue in there also.  So once you have your fabric gathered up you’ll need about 20 three-inch circles and 30 two-inch circles cut from the fabric.  Once you have them cut, start pairing up your fabric three-inch circles with your burlap two-inch circles on top and your burlap three-inch circles with your fabric two-inch circles on top.  Then with the remaining burlap stack the two-inch and three-inch circles together.

I only bought one pack of brads (I believe it had 22 total) so I first used all of those to secure circles together, and with the remaining circles I glued them together and secured a button on the top.  Then begin gluing the circles to the form, alternating the fabrics and burlap.

I had some circles left over, but I was happy with the fullness I had.  You can certainly use all of yours if you want.  Here’s the first picture I snapped after hanging it on the door.

I was pleased, until I shut the door and if fell off the nail it was hanging on.  That’s where the ribbon comes in.  I glued some ribbon to the back so it would hang more securely.  I prefer the look without the ribbon, but I got into a lot of trouble when I put that nail in the door for our Christmas wreath, so there was no chance I was going to add a larger nail hole to the door.  Here’s the wreath after it’s ribbon addition.

And a final shot from the steps

So hope you guys give this a try.  The only drawback is the mess you have to clean up after you finish cutting all of those circles, but I’m thrilled with the result and excited that our house seems much more inviting now that the front door has a wreath on it.  I am still looking for wreaths, so if you have a tip on where to get some, I would appreciate it! Maybe it’s not the right time of year for them?  You guys fill me in.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 12:27 pm

    OH, that is too cute! LOVE it!

  2. Kathryn permalink
    March 21, 2011 3:04 pm

    I loveeeee it! You’re so crafty : ) I need a lesson, ha!

  3. August 28, 2011 3:14 pm

    I love your take on the burlap wreath! I used buttons, big and small, but I love the brads mixed with the small buttons!!

Leave a Reply

