Skip to content

Cast your vote – I need help!

March 17, 2011

Today’s post is a cry for help!  Since it’s been over three months that we’ve called our current house our home, I have pieced together a general idea of what every room will eventually look like after I get the time and money to paint, buy accessories and furniture for them.  Every room except for one.


I’m stumped.  We bought a chocolate-brown sectional to go with those terra cotta colored tiles, but what to do about the wall color?

Here’s a close up of the tile that’s become a thorn in my side:

Now I did take a color composition class in college, and I understand that blue is orange’s compliment, and if you add black to one color you add white to the other – so technically the light blue goes well with the reddish-orange.  I’m also a huge fan of blue as you must know by now, but for whatever reason, the color combination in this room just isn’t doing it for me.  I keep imagining the perfect cream color in here that may have a hint of grey but I just can’t decide on that color.  Here are some colors I’ve tried so far:

From left to right: Benjamin Moore’s Manchester Tan, Laura Ashley Gold #3 (it matched some fabric I considered making drapes out of but that got scratched when I couldn’t complete the drapes for the living room) Lowe’s Eddie Bauer Barley, and Lowe’s Eddie Bauer Wicker (same color as our living room).

I began priming the trim last night and it will all get a nice fresh coat of white paint.  So here’s my desperate plea: please help me pick a color!  If you have a great cream color (or a different suggestion, it doesn’t have to be cream/beige/brown or tan) that you think would work – please send me the name!  I’ll be sure to give you credit when I post our den’s makeover!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 3:36 pm

    So tough…the white trim will be a big improvement alone! My go-to color for cream is Sherwin Williams “Ivoire” — on the same card is “Restrained Gold” which is a pretty shade of tan.

    • March 18, 2011 8:16 am

      I love the names of those colors, so I see a trip to Sherwin Williams in my near future! Thanks Brantley!

  2. March 17, 2011 8:51 pm

    And I was just about to ask YOU for help picking out wall color for my new office that’s in desperate need of a makeover….

    Anyway, you’re on your own…I didn’t take a color composition class in college.

    Miss seeing you!

    • March 18, 2011 8:17 am

      Send me some pictures – maybe I”ll be better at helping you than I am at helping my den. I miss you too!! I’m glad we have blogs to keep up with each other from afar!

  3. March 29, 2011 10:42 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog via Kathryn’s. I hope you don’t mind me just dropping in my two cents on this post! I agree with you that the blue really isn’t my favorite on the walls, but I do think you can draw in some blue with your accessories (big throw pillows or a patterned rug!) Check out Benjamin Moore’s Antique White. I used it in a semi-gloss on my trim, walls, and ceiling throughout my whole house and LOVE it!

    • March 30, 2011 9:17 am

      Hi Whitney! I’m glad to hear your two cents anytime! I am all about some blue, so I love your suggestion of bringing that in with pillows or the rug. So do you think the Antique White would work well on the walls? or just the trim? Thanks for your help!

      • March 30, 2011 12:02 pm

        Oh, I would do the Antique White on the walls (and even the ceiling), and paint your trim, door, and window casings in a white a few shades lighter than the Antique White (but not a BRIGHT white. Something more subdued). Or, you could check out Benjamin Moore’s Toasted Almond for your walls and ceiling, and then do your trim and window casings in Antique White (I did that in my dining room… love!)

Trackbacks

  1. Natural Cream – the winning color «

Leave a Reply

