Skip to content

Striped Eye Candy

March 14, 2011

I’m in Columbia today so I’m away from my interior design idea folder on my computer, away from all of my personal photos of projects and food as well as all of my editing software, but I wanted to post something today (since I was very slack last week and barely posted), so I found some new images of one of my most favorite trends right now…the stripe.

I’ve always enjoyed a good stripe.  For those of you who know me, my wardrobe is full of striped shirts.  Has to have two colors only and white is always one of them.  I like a nice fat stripe too….not much a big  fan of ticking stripes.  I’ve recently noticed that stripes are coming back in a big way in interior design, and though I don’t know how I’m going to extend this trend from my wardrobe to my house, I’m sure I’ll find some suitable place to pull out the painters tape and a ruler and get stripin’.

So enjoy some of my favorite examples of stripes:

I think this would be a very labor intesnive place to paint stripes, but what a fun idea for a nursery.  It’s so playful!

This is my favorite example, and this may be the most emulated picture of the group.  Our downstairs bathroom is covered in a striped wallpaper – which is not my favorite, but I would gladly tear it down and replace it some bold yellow stripes like this.  That bathroom doesn’t have a window, so the yellow might be just the trick for helping it feel “sunny” without any real sunlight.  I’ll let you know if and when I decide to give this a try.

Do you have any stripes painted in your house?  Send me some pictures.  I’d love to see.  Or have a suggestion for what room to stripe in my house?  Take our home tour and let me know where you would add some fun stripes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:30 pm

    That’s so funny! I had stripes in my last house. I had a chair rail so I put blue and white stripes on top and solid blue on the bottom. I loved it because it added alot of visual interest. I’d totally do subtle stripes in a bedroom in lieu of wall paper or faux finish. A nice subtle color difference with one being a shinier or mixed with glaze would be so elegant I think. (can you tell I’m mentally decorating my next house?)

Leave a Reply

