Skip to content

Wicker on the Walls

March 2, 2011

If you read this post, you remember seeing the new color we chose for our living room.  It’s called Wicker from Lowe’s Eddie Bauer collection.  We tried two colors, wicker and another one called barley, but it was too green for our space.  Here’s a photo of the large swatch of wicker:


There was something about our old color that read “pink” to me, so I liked the warmer tones of the wicker.  It took us a while to get ourselves motivated to actually get the color up on the walls, but we finally did.  Here’s the room now that it’s freshly painted:

We finally found a home for one of our bookshelves that has been left stranded in the garage for the past three months.

So overall the change is quite subtle but it makes the room feel much cozier.  The huge windows make this room so bright, so the walls could handle a richer tone, and the mantle is still doing a great job showing off its chocolate-brown finish.

I’m attempting to sew drapes for this room now to help tie the brown of the fireplace wall to the bright window wall, but it has been a struggle.  I’ve quickly learned that I may be a lot of things, but a seamstress I am not.

For those of you who wanted to see a finished picture of the new foyer here’s a quick shot from the dining room looking through it to the living room:

There’s Russell trying to escape through the front door I opened to let in a little light…don’t worry I caught him before he got away.

The only art work I have hanging in the foyer is a drawing I received from my brother for Christmas:

It’s a drawing of the Kershaw-Cornwallis house in Camden, Scott’s hometown.  I fell in love with this house on Scott and my first date, and it’s been very special to me ever since.  Isn’t my brother so talented?  You can check out his website here.  LOVE YOU BUDRO!

So that’s all I’ve got for now.  We’re also working on a project to spruce up the two doors in our foyer so keep checking in!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg Inabinet permalink
    March 2, 2011 1:15 pm

    Melissa, do you remember where you got the bookcase?

  2. July 12, 2011 12:16 am

    what is the flooring and color / maker you used…its great!!

Trackbacks

  1. Foyer Doors «
  2. My Drapery Dream Come True «

Leave a Reply

