Skip to content

My Macro’s First Time

February 24, 2011

If you guys read yesterday’s post, you know that I bought a new macro lens last week.  One of the reasons I finally forced myself to make a decision about purchasing it was that I had a family who kindly volunteered to be my guinea pigs last Saturday.  They added a new little lady to the world in December and had not taken any updated family pictures yet, so I jumped at the chance to give portrait photography a try.

I’m not sure where my new hobby is going to lead me, though I do still think it’ll end up being food related, but I figured the challenge of photographing moving subjects in changing light could only help me become better acquainted with my camera and I really think it did.

So here are a few of the shots (out of roughly 700) from that day that I’m not embarrassed to share:

 

Good lookin’ family, aren’t they?  They are in our Life Group/Bible Study/Sunday School class, and have been very welcoming to us.  Scott and Louis are also in Spartanburg Lions Club together so we see them quite often!  We’re very thankful to be developing some great new relationships here in the ‘burg!  Thanks you guys for befriending the crazy strangers from Columbia and for letting me practice my photography with your family!

For my photographer friends out there – if you have any tips based on problems you notice in my pictures – don’t hold back!  Please let me know  – your critiques are welcome here!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    February 24, 2011 12:05 pm

    Oh wow… these are great!

Leave a Reply

