Skip to content

Craigslist Goodie

February 3, 2011

I’m sure you all know about good ‘ol craigslist.org, and if you don’t, I would suggest you check it out.  It’s a wonderful resource to post or find jobs, garage sales, houses, vacation rentals, furniture, pets, classes, that missed love you saw at the grocery store last Tuesday wearing sweats….

So my favorite thing to look for is furniture, though I do enjoy looking through the missed connections.  It’s amazing what people have and are willing to sell for so little (at least most of the time). I have a few items I’m scouring for at the moment.

1.) A pedestal dining table that’s no more than 42″ in diameter – that is white/cream or could be painted. My inspiration is this table from overstock.com:

2.) An armoire/hutch/bakers rack to fit in the nook at the top of our stairs. Something like this:

3.) Two coffee tables – one glass top for our formal living room, and a wooden or ottoman type for our den.

For the living room – some version of Pottery Barn’s Tanner Coffee Table:

4.) A small round table (maybe 12″ in diameter) to fit snuggly between two chairs for the den.

I love how unique this metal one is from Target:

So when I have a second to browse Craigslist (usually while I’m eating lunch at my desk) I try to find one of these things or find something awesome that you didn’t even realize you needed.  Well I struck it rich last week and snagged a wooden coffee table for $15!  Here’s a shot of her in all her glory:

She’s pretty beat up.  The best part was when Scott and I went to pick it up (SIDENOTE: Ladies – please don’t go get items alone – take the man in your life – or a really strong girlfriend) we checked it out to make sure we still wanted to purchase it – and surprisingly the bottom had “Lane’s Furniture” stamped on it.  So this is a really nice piece – just needs some sanding and some painting.  The guy we bought it from had gotten it from his grandmother’s attic and didn’t want it.  Works for us!

So I’m thinking about adding a thick piece of foam on the top and covering it with fabric to create an ottoman, but it could be fun to paint it a bright color that will work with our den  I’m not sure what to do so I’d love for you guys to weigh in – especially if you’ve tackled sanding and painting some intricate legs like this beauty is sporting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 9:51 am

    Oh I can’t wait to see what you do with that table!! I love painted wood. It is hard to tell in the picture how tall it is so I’m having a hard time visualizing it as an ottoman/bench. A project that I have been planning to tackle for months is painting my kitchen table & chairs. My table has turned spindle legs and I’m planning to use a liquid sander — it might work for your table also.

  2. Thersa B Giffin permalink
    February 4, 2011 7:27 am

    Remember if you plan to paint and use it for a table that the prep work is the most important part! Being that it was in the attic and used by multiple generations, be sure to clean it with something like TSP to remove built up wax and residue. If you use a good quality primer, the sanding should be minimal, just remove the surface shine, clean well and prime. I usually sand with 220 after the primer, clean really well then paint. If you sand between coats of paint with 400, you will get a wonderful smooth finish! Have fun.

Leave a Reply

