Skip to content

Kitchen update

January 26, 2011

I realized the other day that I never posted the “afters” of our too-bright-to-handle, yellow kitchen.  I think there’s something quaint about yellow kitchens, but I think I prefer a soft buttery yellow, and not lemon yellow.  Here’s a quick reminder for you guys what kinda yellow we were working with:

Not so bad from this angle, but if you turn around you’d see:

Sorry, I should have warned you to put on your sunglasses before looking at that picture.  It’s so bright it really could have burned up your retinas.  Before we had the floors sanded, and before we had even moved our stuff to the house – I tackled this project.  I knew that the kitchen is where I spend most of my time, so I wanted to try to get it ready before we moved in.  I had a few color choices, but it was very clear I loved this one.  Palladian Blue by Benjamin Moore.

It’s a greenish blue and it looks great with the satin nickel hardware, black accessories and helps break up all the white from our cabinetry and counter tops.

Here’s the after tour:

You’ll also notice the light fixture in the eat in kitchen didn’t escape without its own makeover.  I tried The hubs took it apart and spray painted it black to help break up all the white.  My long-term plans for the kitchen include upgrading our white laminate counter tops (they may be the death of me, they NEVER look clean) to granite or quartz or marble.  Of course I’d like to update our 80s appliances to black or stainless steel, maybe add a back splash, but in the short term I will be making or buying some roman shades (I’d love to install bamboo roman shades if I could find some) so the windows don’t look so naked.

Sorry it took me so long to share, but I’m very happy with my kitchen as it is now, and I’m so glad I got this done before we moved in.  What do you think about the color?  What’s your favorite kitchen color?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

