Skip to content

your turn craft project: Tissue Paper Flowers

January 17, 2011

Last week to all of our amazement, the south was still covered in snow and ice.  My car was stuck at the bottom of our sloping driveway which was also covered in ice, rendering me stranded at our house for the entire week.  Since I work from home, that wasn’t a big deal, however, we had plans for company to come over.  I needed to go to the grocery store to buy a few food items as well as some flowers to decorate the dining room table with.

The hubs (who was smart enough to park on the street before the snow came) graciously offered to stop by the store for me on his way home from work, only moments before our guests were scheduled to arrive, so the food was covered, but I wouldn’t have had time to put together a flower arrangement, so I needed to improvise.  They say necessity is the mother of invention, and in this case, I feel that is true.  I walked through our house trying to come up with suitable centerpieces using things we already had: candles, pine cones, bowls…but nothing seemed to work, until I remembered a magazine clipping craft I’ve had for years and never tried.  It teaches you how to make paper flowers.  PERFECT!

So I grabbed the directions and collected the supplies.  You’ll need a ruler, scissors, floral wire (I was lucky and had some leftover wired wood picks), a pencil and several sheets of tissue paper or a left over sewing pattern.

Measure 7 x 7 inch squares out of your paper (this does not have to be exact) and cut them out.

Once you have six 7 x 7 inch squares cut, stack them

Fold the stack accordian-style until you form a 1 x 7 inch strip

Round the ends with your scissors.  Then wrap the center tightly with floral wire.

Fan out the paper and pull each layer apart until your flower looks fully bloomed.

Combine with your other flowers and place in a vase or jar and enjoy forever…no water required.

I love this idea for parties because you make them way ahead of time without any fear of them dying or looking droopy.  It’s VERY inexpensive and you can customize your colors easily.  Thank you Martha Stewart once again for a clever idea.  Hope you guys give it a try.  If you do I’d love to see some pictures!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:38 am

    Thank you so much! I’ve always wanted a good paper flower pattern and this looks great! The kids and I are feeling creative today. They want to go the melting crayons way. I’m thinking no hot wax direction is better for us!

  2. January 17, 2011 11:42 am

    I have made these before! You can also make big ones and hang them with fishing line. A friend of mine made big ones and hung them from tree branches for her little girl’s outdoor birthday party. I’ll try to find a picture to send you. Another variation: instead of rounding the edges, you can cut them in a point for a “spiky flower.” Cute + easy + colorful + cheap = good!

    • January 17, 2011 11:55 am

      Love this idea – it makes a huge impact even in a backyard! Thank you for sending me the link!

Leave a Reply

