Skip to content

The dining room is served

January 14, 2011

I’m finally ready to reveal to you all our dining room.  In the rush to prepare for company, I found the motivation to get my list together and start tackling the lingering projects to get as close to finished with it as possible.  When we first moved in, the room was painted eggplant in a flat finish.  Pair that with a bright brass light fixture, and the orangey-yellow of the floors before we had them sanded and stained…ugh.  Here’s a photo for those of you who don’t remember or who haven’t seen it:

My mom, who is a purple fanatic, didn’t even like it.  So we knew we needed to do some updating.  Here’s the list I made for the room:

Dining Room to-do List

1. Select a color and paint over the eggplant
2. Replace light fixture
3. Paint trim and chair rail
4. Stain quarter round and install
5. Update light switches and light plates (they were also brass)
6. Buy curtains and curtain rods
7. Install curtains and rods
8. Move in furniture
9. Hang mirror

Well at this point we have eight of nine projects complete.  Good enough for me.  So to take you through the process we’ll start at choosing a paint color.  Scott and I had a difficult time agreeing on a color for the dining room.  He is attracted to very dark colors, which would be okay since we have the chair rail to help lighten up whatever burdening color he wanted, but I just couldn’t bring myself to paint over a dark purple with a dark blue…as in navy.  We went to Benjamin Moore, Sherwin Williams and Lowes and gathered loads of color swatches, but the hard part is admitting that Scott chose the winning color (my graphic designer’s pride is hurt).  It’s caller Mercer Blue from Lowes’ Eddie Bauer Collection, and it might be one of my favorite colors I’ve ever painted a room (Nice choice babe).  Here’s a close up shot of the wall color:

Very sophisticated, don’t you think?  It’s just dark enough to give it the formal feeling we wanted in the dining room without feeling like a dungeon.  After deciding on the color, next up was the light fixture.  We found a new chandelier from Lowes that reminded me of something Candice Olson would hang in one of her $100k dollar makeover rooms.  Then I found some lovely navy drapes from Tuesday Morning that matches the fabric on the seat cushions and picks up the navy within our area rug.  So here it is, the final product looking from the kitchen…

I forgot to mention to ignore the hot pink accents – that was for a dinner party.  Here’s a view from the back of the room:

and a shot of the china hutch:

What do you guys think?  The one item I have left on my list is to paint the trim and chair rail.  My hands were a bit shaky the day I painted so the trim needs quite a bit of touching up.  I also want to add some bamboo roman shades or plantation blinds to the windows, but I haven’t been able to find bamboo roman shades anywhere.  Please let me know if you have the inside scoop on where to find those.  Other than that do you have any suggestions?  I’d love to hear feedback from you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 9:38 am

    You can never go wrong with Eddie Bauer paint colors. We’ve used two of them in our house and they don’t disappoint.

    I need a blue room. I have a few accessories for blue that I love but have nowhere to display them as I don’t have a blue room in my house.

    Do you make housecalls? I’d love your sense of style to spruce up things in my tired house.

    It’s beautiful, Melissa.

  2. Becky Spivey permalink
    January 26, 2011 9:33 pm

    The pics are gorgeous. We begin kitchen renovations Monday week. Cabinets stripped to raw wood and new doors. Cherry stain, new appliances, new white vinyl windows, hardwoods will run into the kitchen. Lots to do. Could possibly be through by the end of Feb. So excited. little by little. Everything looks great. Love the blog. Hope you’re both well. We’ll get together soon.

    • January 27, 2011 7:54 am

      That sounds so exciting! Please take lots of pictures of each step because I’d love to see! Also – that means your kitchen’s going to be out of commission. When do you guys want to come over for dinner?

  3. July 20, 2011 3:39 pm

    We are trying to select a flooring “stain” color, share the color stain, please…..love yours!! Love the all white kitchen (white countertops will always be clean without finding a speck of food later!!)….love the colors you selected.

Leave a Reply

