Skip to content

You say frittata, I say delicious!

January 11, 2011

You know how after you buy or receive a new cookbook you look through it several times trying to memorize what recipes you might like to try in it, and then after putting it with the stack, you forget and never give them a shot?  Happens to me all the time.  When I was preparing for New Years Eve I was searching for a really good home-made lasagna recipe, so I pulled out one of my very favorite cookbooks:

Everyday Italian by Giada de Laurenttis.  I remember her very first episode way back in high school – and have been a fan ever since.  So as I looked through her book to find a lasagna recipe, something else caught my eye.  She had a section on Frittatas…in my mind they are the Italian version of a quiche.  That’s probably not correct, but that’s how I see it.  I decided to tab it so that I could try one out, and I am so glad I did.  It was one of those nights where you don’t feel like cooking much, so the hubs and I decided breakfast for dinner sounded great (don’t you love those nights?) He made two eggs and popped a few frozen biscuits in the oven, while I pulled out my cookbook to give this frittata business a try.  I halved the recipe since I knew Scott wouldn’t come within a foot of it and it was still a lot to eat, but this would be fantastic for a brunch with a big group.

Frittata with Asparagus, Tomato and Fontina Cheese

From Everyday Italian by Giada de Laurenttis, 2005

i n g r e d i e n t s :

6 large eggs
2 tbsp whipping cream (I used milk)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp butter
4 stems of asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 tomato, seeded and diced
3 oz. fontina cheese, cubed (I used cheddar)

d i r e c t i o n s :

1. Preheat your broiler.  In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs, cream, salt and pepper together.  Set aside.

2. In a 9.5 inch nonstick ovenproof skillet, heat the oil and butter over medium.  Add asparagus and saute until crisp-tender, about 2 minutes.

3. Add tomato and saute 2 more minutes.  Pour the egg mixture over the asparagus and sprinkle with cheese.  Cover and cook over medium-low heat until the frittata is almost set but the top is still runny.

4. Remove lid, and place under the broiler and cook until the top is set and golden brown – about 4 minutes.

5. Let frittata stand for 2 minutes.  Use a rubber spatula to loosen the frittata from the skillet and slide onto a plate.  Cut into wedges and serve.

* * *

PRINT 4 X 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

I had to substitute for cream and fontina cheese since I made this spontaneously instead of making a grocery list, but I intend to give it a try with the correct ingredients to see how it tastes.  The great thing is this is so versatile you could easily just chop up any vegetables you have left over (like right now I have onion, red pepper and spinach) and throw some egg over and bake it with cheese.  I think I’ll be experimenting more with frittatas in the future…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. girls9spirit permalink
    January 11, 2011 9:08 am

    wow its looks so yummy i wanna eat it lol

  2. Gail LaCroix-Harms permalink
    January 11, 2011 9:49 am

    Wow! This looks great and so does the pic!

  3. January 13, 2011 1:29 pm

    I made this for breakfast this morning! It is delicious! I am cutting back on sugar & carbs as part of my New Year’s diet and breakfast time presents the biggest challenge. I used nonfat half and half and leftover asparagus from supper last night. Otherwise, I followed the directions and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!

    • January 13, 2011 1:55 pm

      So glad to hear you liked it! I did too and it’s super filling. If you try any different versions – please let me know!

Leave a Reply

