Skip to content

Chocolate-dipped Mantel

January 10, 2011

I am so excited to post an update on our house today!  Other than our floors, I haven’t been able to share any of the updates taking place within the Spivey Manor as we’ve jokingly referred to it…(after living in a one bedroom apartment for four months – this place feels like a mansion!) Anyway, I have been busily preparing for my family to visit this weekend for my birthday, and of course, I want to have as many projects done before then…so here’s a few we’ve been working on.

The front rooms have been my priority for obvious reasons.  I’m almost completely finished with the dining room – but I want to share all of those details later with a complete reveal, so you should see that soon (I hope).  The living room has been next up on the list.  If you recall here is the blank slate.  The wall color is less than exciting, and although it has cool features like a huge picture window, gorgeous fireplace and built-in shelves, it just isn’t that exciting:

Pretty dull, huh?

Well I’d put together a room inspiration board.  This is what all the interior designers do, so I figured I should give it a try.  Now time to give credit where credit is due.  My friend Anna gifted me with this gorgeous patterned brown and linen fabric before Scott and I even knew we were moving.  I’ve been saving it for the exact right place to put it, so it was the basis of what I wanted to do in this room.  When she came to visit, she also suggested throwing in a little bit of blue { SPOILER ALERT} since it’s in the dining room and the kitchen, which you can see from the living room.  I just so happened to have this fabric also which helps add in the brown, and blues.

From the first time we walked through our house after signing our lives away for it – I knew I wanted to paint the mantle wall a bold color to help it stand out.  With my color palette decided, I went through my paint samples and decided on a color I originally saw in the House Beautiful color guide: Bittersweet Chocolate.  My in-laws painted this in their foyer and I loved it – so I was brave enough to give it a try in my home.

That is a Benjamin Moore color, but I heard a rumor that Lowes can mix Benjamin Moore colors, so I gave Lowes a shot.

Lowes didn’t disappoint.  I quickly applied the color, and with the roaring fire the hubs had built the first and second coats dried quickly (although I almost burned up my legs while applying them) and ended up with this: a perfect match to the paint swatch:

Sure do notice that mantle more now.  I love that it brings out the darker parts of our floors…yummy! Here it is with more of the room – notice the paint swatch in the back called “Wicker” that I may be working on painting today.  (Please forgive the mess on the coffee table – it’s been serving as my makeshift photo studio as I work on updating my website’s portfolio.)

Here’s a closer shot:

Well there you have it for now.  I am so happy with how this looks, and I can’t wait to get the rest of the room painted to see how the two colors warm up the space.  Do you have any suggestions for my living room?  I’d love to consider your ideas!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy permalink
    January 10, 2011 10:02 am

    Love Love Love the chocolate! gorgeous!

  2. Ebonn permalink
    January 10, 2011 10:13 am

    Looks beautiful! Great job, Melissa!

  3. Anna permalink
    January 10, 2011 12:57 pm

    I love, love, love it! It really is the perfect spot to paint a bold color, especially with the fabric choices. Your’e going to make me want to redo my house (again). I’m digging the clean lines, select bold colors but bright room already.

  4. Missey permalink
    January 10, 2011 9:56 pm

    Love it! So I’m totally seeing the ‘layering’ on the mantle that Anna has been talking about!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Wicker on the Walls «
  2. your turn: Antique Wooden Sign «
  3. My Drapery Dream Come True «

Leave a Reply

