Skip to content

Zebra of a Different Stripe

January 4, 2011

I don’t think I’ve shared this before, but I have a huge digital and printed library of my favorite designed rooms.  It’s my interior design arsenal, if you will.  If I’m trying to figure out what to do with a room, I pull out my three-ring binder, or open the folder on my computer and flip through to get inspired (this is also true for graphic design – it helps me get the creative juices flowing).  It’s very easy to get a feel for my style after a few pages.  I like neutrals.  I love dark floors and furniture.  I like small pops of color, but I recently noticed one other small detail.  I love zebra stripes.

I’m not sure how I didn’t notice this before, but nearly every other page has a zebra stripe pillow nestled into the corner of a sofa, or a chair wrapped in the print, or an ottoman, or a painted box.  I’ve put together a few examples from my digital file:

I’m sure that bottom left photo looks familiar, it was also in the floor color comparison post, and it happens to feature my favorite pillow.  As a designer, I am drawn to a bold, clean pattern and that one stills my heart.  It’s enlarged, it has crisp lines and I wish it were mine.  Well how do you find it?

I got lucky.  I was flipping through the West Elm website when there it was: the pillow of my dreams, seen here:


I didn’t even know it came in grey, and suddenly I wanted that one too, until I saw the price.  $39.00 and an extra $14.00 for the pillow insert and who knows how much for shipping.  I put it in the shopping cart and debated with myself if it was worth that.  After two days, I decided that it wasn’t.  I tried to forget the pillow, and went on with my life.  A few days later, I was in Wal-Mart shopping for a new shower curtain liner, which happens to be perpendicular to the decorative pillow aisle, and something caught my eye.  They had a zebra stripe pillow in a brownish color:

Smaller scaled pattern, but I loved it none-the-less, and it seemed oddly familiar to me.  I recalled West Elm also having a pillow with the same pattern here:

The best part was the Wal-Mart pillow only cost $11.00, so I could have bought 4.8 Wal-Mart zebra stripe pillows, for one West Elm zebra stripe pillow! I am thrilled with my find and here it is at home in my living room:

What do you think?  Good enough supplement, or should I add West Elm’s pillow to my birthday list?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

