Skip to content

Goals for 2011

January 4, 2011

I’m finally getting back on track since we rang in 2011!  The hubs and I spent the weekend in Lake Lure, NC with some of our favorites and had a wonderful time.  The scenery at Lake Lure was stunning, and if you’ve never visited, I would highly recommend it!

While we were there, we had loads of down time, which was the whole idea, but it gave me time to think.  I always try to devise well thought out personal goals for each new year, and somehow by the following year, I’ve forgotten the goal I’ve set and of course can’t see how I did because I don’t remember what it was.  So this year I’m telling the world, and I can look back in a year, and see how I did, and you readers out there can help hold me accountable.

Some goals seem to be the same every year: Eat more fruits and vegetables and less carbs and sugar.  Be more active.  Include more scripture in my quite time. Be more selfless…but these are difficult to measure, though they are still on the list.  So here are my measurable goals for myself for 2011 to add to my others:

1. Be featured on FoodPress.com.
2. Experience new cuisines: maybe Indian (my brother’s influence) or German…maybe others? (suggestions welcome)
3. Be brave and buy a few of the strange foods I always pass in the grocery store, and figure out some way to cook them: (rhubarb, leeks, beets, parsnips)
4. Dust off my paints from college and create at least two paintings this year.
5. Read a book a month.
6. Make an additional payment to the hubs student loan every month – of at least $5.00
7. Take a trip to somewhere I’ve never been.

There you have them, seven measurable goals for 2011.  Hope I can do it!  I think the most challenging goal will be to read a book a month, but I’ll keep you posted.  Thanks for helping keep me on track!

Did you make any goals for the year?  What are they?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 1:49 pm

    OH my goodness, I found your blog through Brantley, and I have fallen in love with your posts! LOVE all of the recipes and decoration ideas!

  2. Lisa permalink
    January 4, 2011 4:54 pm

    Try Mediterainian… LEBANESE! I’ll even make it for you! Mama, Hannah, you and I ought to have a girls night and I’ll cook you both a Lebanese meal! Love you and take care. Maybe we could go hiking at Table Rock this spring!

  3. January 8, 2011 4:17 am

    Good thing you have here! I reallydo love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post was been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should work! Have a nice day!

    • January 10, 2011 9:19 am

      Hi Cary. Thanks for reading my blog! If you enter your e-mail address on the right side under “Get the Scoop First,” an e-mail will be sent to you after each new post.

  4. January 12, 2011 7:44 am

    That is really captivating. It provided me several ideas and I’ll be writing them on my web site shortly. I’m bookmarking your website and I’ll be back. Thank you again!

Trackbacks

  1. I think it really happened… «
  2. Green peas and ham «

Leave a Reply

