Skip to content

Orange Blossoms in the Dead of Winter

December 29, 2010

One of the best things about our new house has been our welcoming neighbors.  In Columbia, it took nearly a year before we met anyone on our street (when we got Charlie).  Before being in our house more than six hours, we had met both sets of neighbors on either side as well as the ones across the street.

Our neighbors are slightly older, as in over 70 on both sides, but I love it!  They both greeted us with baked goods as they came to introduce themselves and give us the scoop on the neighborhood.  We also got Christmas goodies the week before Christmas.

Neighbor #1 gave us this assortment:

Neighbor #2 brought us what she called “Orange Blossoms.”  They were beautifully packaged, and were these curious bright orange button looking things.  She told me they were best kept in the freezer so as soon as we were done chatting, I did just that, but after that I didn’t know what to do with them.  I wasn’t sure if I needed to bake them before eating them, since they were in the freezer, or if you let them thaw before digging in?

Luckily a brave friend of mine, Anna, came to visit the following week, and I showed them to her.  She fearlessly bit in and was like “oh they’re good just like that!”  I hesitantly tried one, fearing the cold shock that would surge through my sensitive teeth, but they were great!  I loved them!  It wasn’t long before I ate them all.  So when you find such a delicious treat, you have to be able to make more, so I googled “orange blossom recipe” until I found one that made sense based on what she gave me.

So here it is, a tasty little treat to brighten your day in the dead of winter:

Orange Blossoms

i n g r e d i e n t s :

1 white or yellow cake mix
Eggs/milk/water/oil required on cake mix package
Zest of 2 lemons
Juice of 2 lemons
Zest of 2 oranges
Juice of 2 oranges
Orange food coloring

d i r e c t i o n s :

1. Prepare cake mix according to directions, adding the zest of the lemons and oranges, as well as a few drops of orange food coloring.

2. Spray a small muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray and fill 3/4 of the way with the batter.

3. Cook according to directions.

4. In a small mixing bowl, combine sugar with lemon and orange juice until you form a runny glaze.  Drizzle over warm muffins and let cool on wax paper.  Freeze if desired.

* * *

PRINT 4 x 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

Now these little muffins are delicious.  The citrus flavor and chill from the freezer makes me think these would be great during the summer, so I’ll have to pull this recipe back out in a few months when we’re all pouring with sweat.  If you’ve made these before and have a different recipe, please send it my way!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

