Skip to content

Black Interior Doors: a do or a don’t?

December 27, 2010

The holidays have come and gone, and it’s time for me to get back on track with decorating our new pad.  I am left to do most of the work in the house since the hubs has 10 hour work days and has little to no desire to do house projects when he gets home, so I have been sticking to easy projects that I can do on my own, like painting.

We all love paint.  It’s a cheap way to make big changes in a room.  It’s also fairly simple to do, though it does require a ton of patience. Well ever since our kitchen redo at our old house, I’ve wanted to paint all the interior doors at our new place black.  I’ve seen it all over the place recently, and I love the way it looks.  The question is, are black interior doors for me?

Here are a few examples of my favorites:

It adds so much interest to the rooms in these examples.  I had this idea to do a test run of a black interior door before we moved by painting the side door in the kitchen black and loved the result:

See him peeping out of the right side of the photo?  It really seemed to work here with the black granite counter tops, and black appliances.  The knowledge that if I paint the doors black and hate it, all I have to do is prime and prime and paint and paint and paint them white to get back where I started, doesn’t scare me that much.  I’m dying to hear what you think so cast your vote below by leaving a comment and/or suggestion.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Thersa B Giffin permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:29 pm

    I love black!!! I want to do my kitchen cabinets in black…all interior doors etc… Black is fresh, it grounds a space.

    Be fearless…go with what you love!!!

  2. December 27, 2010 7:37 pm

    hi sissy, i will do it in my kitchen, too, if that helps any! LOVE the new page look! 😉

  3. jule1 permalink
    March 1, 2011 8:02 am

    I think you should always go with your instincts. The examples are great, and the one in your kitchen looks good, too. Go for it.

Leave a Reply

