Skip to content

Almond Glazed Christmas Cheer

December 17, 2010

My baking frenzy has continued and now we’re onto Scott’s co-workers.  Today was the last day for one of the partners before the holidays, so I needed to make an assortment of goodies for four special individuals.  I thought the left over bags from last year were not appropriate containers for the festive treats, so I headed to our favorite place: WAL-MART! (I’m sure you can sense the sarcasm.)

I would have gone to Target, which I typically believe to have cuter designed products, but that’s on the other side of town, even though that’s only about 10 miles away.  So I headed to my 1.5 mile away Wal-Mart instead, and bravo Wal-Mart – it has upped the ante this year.  I got some great tins for $2.00 for a larger size and $1.50 for the smaller.  I sent them out the door with the hubs this morning before thinking of getting a shot.  Anyway, if you need some cute, budget friendly tins, run to Wal-Mart.

I had some left over batter from the Chocolate Paw Prints I made the other day, so I baked some more to add to the tins.  I also decided to make Sweet Toasted Pecans, but couldn’t find any pecans at the store.  Then it hit me!  I haven’t made my best cookies ever in quite a while, so I had to bake them up and toss them in.

This is a recipe I found on the box of some Land O’Lakes butter four years ago.  Almond is one of my all time favorite scents and flavors, so when I caught a glimpse of the word “almond” in the recipe title, I made sure to cut it out.  I’m so glad I did!  These cookies are awesome!  So awesome, I won a blue ribbon in the South Carolina State Fair for them.  So you are going to want to try these – TRUST ME!  Unless of course, you don’t like almond, but that’s hard to imagine.

Almond Glazed Sugar Cookies

c o o k i e    i n g r e d i e n t s :

1 cup butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon almond extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

g l a z e   i n g r e d i e n t s :

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon almond extract
4 – 5 teaspoons water
sliced almonds

d i r e c t i o n s :

1. Heat oven to 400°.  Line two sheet pans with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.

2. In a mixing bowl or mixer, combine sugar and butter and cream together.  Once combined, add almond extract.  Mix in.

3. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt.  Slowly mix in flour mixture to the butter mixture.

4. Let cool in the refrigerator for 15 minutes.  Once cooled, use a 1/2 teaspoon measuring spoon to scoop out the dough.  Roll into a ball and place on your baking pan.

5.  Butter the end of a glass that has a flat bottom, and dip buttered end into granulated sugar.  Press cookies flat using the glass.  You’ll want to re-sugar the bottom of the glass between each cookie.  Add more butter if the sugar is no longer sticking to the glass.

6. Bake for 7 – 9 minutes (my oven only took 5) until the edges are slightly browned.  Remove and let cool.

7.  In a small mixing bowl, combine powdered sugar with almond extract, and add one teaspoon of water at a time until you form a glaze.  It should be thin enough that it slowly pours off your spoon, but you don’t want it to drip.  Put into a small sandwich bag and clip a very small hole in the end.

8. Create a dredge by outlining a circle on the top of each cookie and then fill it in.  Finish with adding sliced almonds before the glaze hardens.

* * *

PRINT 4 x 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

You may have noticed this recipe doesn’t require eggs.  Since these cookies are a shortbread variety – you are free to eat as much of the dough as you please!  The great thing about these also, is they won’t spread out too much allowing you you to fit more on your sheet.  If you try them out let me know what you think, or if you have any suggestions!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Carino permalink
    December 17, 2010 10:30 am

    Looks great! Can’t wait to try them! Merry Christmas sweetie… have thought of you a lot lately. Hope you’re okay. You up to receiving visitors in a couple of months?

  2. Lisa permalink
    December 20, 2010 7:31 am

    We made these Saturday and they never made it to the glaze stage! Yummy! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

