Skip to content

A Whole New floor

December 16, 2010

For whatever reason, the song “A Whole New World” popped in my head as I went to name this post.  The feeling you get from that song is somewhat similar to how it feels walking on our newly re-finished hardwood floors.  When we bought our house, I knew I wanted a richer, darker floor.  It took some convincing for Scott to get on board, but we were referred to a great guy, who offered a great price and we decided to go for it.  (If you’re in the Greenville, Spartanburg or Simpsonville area and need his name, just let me know.)

Once I convinced the hubs, I thought the hard part was over.  But oh no.  Choosing the color and agreeing on it was much more of a challenge.  I was instantly drawn to the almost black stains like Jacobean, (not quite as dark as Ebony) seen in these examples:

(These are images I saved to my desktop without making a reference of where they are from.  Now that I’m citing photos – I’ll do a better job in the future to remember where I get things from.  I think one is from Country Living, one is a room by Candice Olson, and the others I believe are from blogs, so if you see your shot – let me know and I will be glad to reference your blog!)

I just love how the dark floor adds some depth to the neutral palettes that I’m drawn to.  Well, I was sold, but Scott and the floor guy, were not.  The floor guy explained that I would “dust my life away” with a darker floor since it will show dust, hair and scratches.  I was at a loss, and really feared I wasn’t going to be happy with the end result now that my dream of a dark floor was crushed.

Luckily, floor guy also had a suggestion to help achieve the look I was going for.  He suggested Provincial.

Here is a picture from my phone showing our old color, a sanded section, and a sample of the Provincial:

I was sold.  Instantly.  It was the warmth I wanted without being TOO dark.  Scott loved it too so we gave two thumbs up and waited a week to see our new floors.

I took a snap of our kitchen floor before and our foyer after for you to see a side by side comparison.

Pretty big difference, huh?  I just love it.  It’s going to set the tone for the rest of the home, and even if I don’t pick the best paint colors, the sophistication the floors exude will enhance whatever other design choices I make.  So far this is the best decision I’ve made!

All of the floor stains I mentioned are by Minwax.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 3:45 pm

    duh…I just now saw / found this page about your floor stain color!! Actually, the one I chose (with everyone putting up a fight) is nearly exactly like the one you selected and NOW I am feeling great with my choice……hi-lights and low-lights of the new flooring will NOT show every little dust or fuzz or etc and this picture share you provided helped me tremendously!! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

