Skip to content

‘Tis the season

December 15, 2010

It’s the season of baking!  Almost everyone I know pulls out their mixing bowls and their sheet pans to bake the delicious treats we all associate with Christmas.  Doesn’t the thought of Christmas conjure up the memory of cinnamon and sugar wafting through your childhood home? It does for me!

Well I am certainly no exception to the baking craze that takes place in December, even though I have a longer-than-Santa’s-naughty-or-nice-list of things to do for our new home.  I’ve reintroduced myself to my baking dishes (who I haven’t seen in months) to make some goodies to take with us to a recent holiday party.

I made two cookies, but the one I’m sharing with you today really reminds me of Christmas.  The powdered sugar exterior looks like snow plus I’ve only ever had them at Christmas.  This recipe came from the hub’s aunt’s kitchen, so here’s a shout out to you Kim (who is an excellent cook and baker as well as a generous sharer of wonderful recipes.) Cheers to not being stingy!

Chocolate Paw Prints

i n g r e d i e n t s :

2 cups sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup unsweetened chocolate, melted
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sifted powdered sugar

d i r e c t i o n s :

1. Combine sugar, oil, chocolate and eggs in a large mixing bowl.  Beat at medium speed until well blended.

2. Add eggs and vanilla, mixing well after adding each egg.

3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.  Add 1/4 flour mixture at a time to the egg mixture, mixing well after each addition.

4. Cover and chill for at least two hours.

5. Shape into 1 inch balls and roll into powdered sugar.

6. Place 2 inches apart on a greased cookie sheet.

7. Bake at 350° for 10 to 12 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.

* * *
PRINT 4 X 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

What cookies do you think of when you think of Christmas?  Want to show you’re not stingy?  Send your recipes my way!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

