Skip to content

Roasted Chicken and Fall Vegetables

December 11, 2010

I don’t know if you’re a lot like me, but our family puts down some serious chicken around here.  It’s so versatile and easily flavored, and CHEAP.  The only problem is that sometimes it can get boring, so I’m always trying to think of new ways to spice things up.  I recently watched an episode of Barefoot Contessa on Food Network, and I believe she was making some sort of twist on Chicken salad, but to get her cooked chicken, she roasted several large chicken breasts!  Brilliant!  She noted that the key to the flavor, was to buy chicken breasts with the bone in and skin on.  So a few days later as I was trying to conjure up a menu for the week, I remembered her tip and decided to give this a try.  I headed to the grocery store to pick up a pack of chicken breasts, bone in, skin on.  While I was there I pieced together a thought of making a mix of roasted vegetables at the same time, since my oven was already going to be on…

Here’s what I ended up doing:

Roasted Chicken and Fall Vegetables

i n g r e d i e n t s:

1 pack of chicken breasts, with bone-in, skin on, (mine came also had rib meat)
Olive Oil
Salt
Freshly cracked pepper
1 sweet potato, skinned and chopped into bite size pieces
4 red potatoes, cleaned and chopped into bite size pieces
1 medium sweet onion, chopped
1 bag of baby carrots

d i r e c t i o n s :

1. Try to set your chicken out to get to room temperature, for about 30 minutes.  Please don’t forget that you set your chicken out, however, because you do not want to get sick! Line a sheet pan with some tin foil to help with clean up and place the chicken on your pan.  Preheat your oven to 400º.

2.  Drizzle the chicken with olive oil, and a gracious pinch of salt and cracked pepper (no body likes bland chicken).  When oven is ready, cook for 40 – 45 minutes.  I flipped mine halfway through, not sure why, but that made me feel like it would be cooked through.

3. On a separate sheet pan, (lined with tin foil) place all of your vegetables and drizzle with olive oil, salt and cracked pepper.  Toss together with hands so each piece is covered, and space vegetables out into an even layer for even cooking.

4.  Toss those into the oven on a lower rack for about 25 minutes.

5. Enjoy!

* * *

PRINT 4 X 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

Have any other ideas for chicken?  I’d love to give your suggestions a try.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

