Skip to content

Our House from a Bird’s Eye

November 21, 2010

I read one of my favorite blogs, young house love, the other day, as I do every day, and they showed some floor plans of their new home.  It’s almost scary how similar I feel my life is to this couple I’ll never meet up in Virginia.  A friend of mine sent me a link to their blog a few years ago – and it was love at first click.  I poured through their archived posts and discovered the couple got married the same day the hubs and I did, they had a very hands-on, home-made approach to their wedding (as did we), they worked at an advertising agency (I’m a graphic designer), they bought a ranch home that needed fixin’ up (just like ours) and when we had to sadly up and move – it turns out they were too!  Scott and I haven’t gotten aboard the same baby bus as them, but other than that, the similarities are frightening, but in a good way!

With the contract on our new house, I was desperate to share the flow of the home to our parents and friends who haven’t seen it. I made many sad attempts to sketch out the floor plan myself, but was very disappointed with the results, until the other day when EUREKA! my feel-like-they’re-my-cyber-friends-even-though-they-don’t-know-me sited this very cool website called FloorPlanner.com as the tool they used to create a great looking floor plan.  I immediately checked it out and was thrilled to see how easy it was to use, and what a great looking “bird’s-eye view” photo you can create.  Here are my results, first floor first:

First Floor, Floor plan

Then the stairs lead down to the partially finished basement/second floor:

Second Floor, Floor Plan

Now the dimensions are not accurate, but I do plan to redo the plan once we can actually get in the house and measure exactly how far apart the windows are, and the actual room sizes, but for now this will do.  I really love how the website allows you to add furniture and rugs to go ahead and work out placement before you move in.  I think it will help tremendously! I urge you to give it a try, because it’s awesome!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

