Skip to content

Falling for Fall

September 23, 2010

Today marks the first day of fall, or autumn as I’ve always preferred to call it.  My love affair with this time of year came at a very young age.  I remember being in elementary school writing love poems about the season: the change in the air, the breathtaking colors, the smells of food cooking that bring back such clear memories.  The idea of us all retreating inside to snuggle up by a fire and wear big comfy sweaters and jackets has always appealed to me.  Plus there’s Halloween and Thanksgiving…

It’s obvious I haven’t written in a while.  Truth is, things have been uneventful, and the thought of having to chronicle rather boring days made them seem bad, so I just stopped putting the pressure on myself to write.  This morning was different.  I couldn’t wait to sit down and start celebrating that autumn is finally here!

To me, food is one of the critical characteristics of autumn that I adore, and since cooking is one of my all time favorite things to do, there’s no better way to kick off our autumn celebration than with a recipe.   SIDENOTE: A few years ago, I had the pleasure of putting together a family cookbook.  My dear friend Kasi, who is an excellent photographer, shot all the dishes we created for the book including this one. My great grandmother (affectionately known as Maw Maw) had this divine cornbread recipe that would be a perfect side to any bowl of chili or soup.

Country Style Cornbread

{Photographed by Kasi Mya Photo}

i n g r e d i e n t s:

2 eggs
1/2 cup oil
2 cups cornmeal
1 cup cream corn
1 cup sour cream
1/4 cup sugar

d i r e c t i o n s:

1.   Beat eggs and oil together in a large  bowl.
2.   Add remaining ingredients into the egg mixture.
3.   Grease a cast iron skillet, then pour in egg mixture (to me this is crucial).
4.   Cook at 400° for the first five minutes.  Reduce heat to 350° and continue cooking for 20 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.
5.   Serve with a pad of butter.

* * *

PRINT 4 X 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

Let me know what you think if you try it.  Do you have any family recipes that remind you of this time of year?  I’d love to hear about them and maybe even add them to my recipe collection.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

