Skip to content

Imitating Sarah

August 13, 2010

I have to admit that today has been a hard day so far.  It’s the last “normal” weekday for me before we pack up and head north to Spartanburg.  So since I’ve already cried once, I’m forcing myself to be positive from this point on (at least for the rest of the day).

One of the things I am looking forward to when we move is finding a new home and decorating it.  We’ve already fixed up the ranch style home we live in now, but this time we’ll have a little more cash to spend on buying pieces that are my style, instead of working with what we’ve been gifted.  SIDE NOTE OF GRATITUDE: I am very grateful for the furnishings we’ve been given and will pass along some of the blessings if certain pieces get replaced.

I may be a graphic designer but interior design is not a skill I’ve been given.  I love admiring photos of well thought out and perfectly planned rooms – but I don’t seem to have the necessary mental capacity to see some cute accessory in a store and know how it’s going to work within my room.  So if you can’t do it yourself – copy someone.  A wise professor once told me that if you’re going to steal ideas – steal from the best – so why not copy Sarah Richardson from Sarah’s House?  I found these photos on HGTV’s website and I hope to soon be able to emulate the color scheme and layout she devised for this gorgeous master bedroom.

I took the recent color quiz in House Beautiful’s Paint Color issue and quickly realized I am a “blue” girl through and through.  I also love neutrals, and I’m sure that’s what draws me to this room.  I adore the soft, stormy blue paint color of this room and how it’s paired with the neutral bedding of creams, whites and grays.  The subtle hits of that dark wood on the headboard, floors and legs of the benches add some depth and interest that I hope I can introduce into my future “dream” master.

Even though I’m not an interior designer – these great shots would allow me to look for the perfect accessories already put together by an expert for my own bedroom.  I love the old-fashioned telephone and I think that headboard is something I could build the hubs could build.

Here’s a look at the opposite side of the wall, and we have a set of matching furniture we purchased when we first got married, but I think it could be worked into this look.  Our dresser has an attached mirror that we could remove and replace with something similar to the mirror Sarah picks for this room.

To see how Sarah puts this room together, watch the full episode here.
I have to say I’m feeling a little bit better thinking about this.  I can’t wait till I can post that I’ve accomplished emulating her room and have amazing after photos.  Until then, I’ll surf the internet for similar fabrics and maybe a DIY headboard tutorial.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 3:49 pm

    This is nearly how I decorated (colors) my master……I couldn’t find the perfect headboard so I became creative…..I found a “free-standing” room divider with panels and I repainted/stained it and secured it to the wall as our headboard and we get so many complements (when I show it to people, not because we entertain in our master bedroom!!)
    Good choices!!!

    • July 27, 2011 5:31 pm

      Hi Stephie,
      I’m just now finding your comments, and would have responded sooner had I known you’d asked questions! Sorry! I’ve moved my blog to http://www.belowblueskies.com so if you comment there in the future, I’ll see it sooner and can respond! Thanks for your encouragement on the colors in my house! Glad you found the floor stain color! I’d love to see pictures of your floors!

      Melissa

Leave a Reply

