Skip to content

A Sweet Adieu

August 6, 2010

This week and the week to come is full of lunches and dinners with those we love here in Columbia that we won’t be seeing quite as often after we move.  Last night, the hubs and I said goodbye to a family I began babysitting for when I was still in high school.  They have seen me graduate from high school, meet Scott, get through college, get married, start my own business, buy a house and all the ups and downs in-between.  They truly have become a part of my extended family and it was hard to say goodbye not knowing when I’ll see them again.

So the sweetest gift they could have ever given me, was a jar full of my all time favorite sweet toasted pecans.  Every Christmas their family makes them as gifts, and luckily for me, I received one each year as well, so it was perfectly fitting for our farewell dinner.

sweet toasted pecans

From the kitchen of Pam B.

i n g r e d i e n t s:

1 egg white
3 cups pecan halves
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 1/2 stick of butter
1 tbsp water

d i r e c t i o n s:

1. Mix water and egg whites.  Stir in pecans and set aside.

2.  Preheat oven to 300°.  Line pans with parchment paper.

3.  In a bowl, mix salt, sugar, cinnamon and pour over the pecans.  Melt butter in your baking sheet, remove from oven and stir the pecan mixture into the melted butter.

4.  Spread nuts out into an even layer, and bake for 25 minutes stirring occasionally.  Remove and let cool before serving.

* * *

PRINT 4 X 6 RECIPE CARD HERE


2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 11:07 am

    My sister makes these every year for Christmas and they just get gobbled down! Merry Christmas!!!

  2. December 28, 2010 9:07 am

    Whoa! those pecans look SO good. one of my new years goals is to cook more (or actually cook at all)! i have a feeling i’ll be getting good use out of your blog! hope you had a merry christmas!

Leave a Reply

