Skip to content

Peachy Dean

August 4, 2010

Summer is quickly wrapping up – and I suddenly realized I had not taken advantage of this season’s sweetest peaches!  Everyone has been talking about how good the peaches have been this year so I had to do something about it.

The hubs had just finished taking the BAR exam (my admiration goes out to law students everywhere), and our dearest friends and I decided to throw a soiree to celebrate.  I volunteered to make dessert – and guess what I made?  You got it, PEACH COBBLER.

Now I have a go-to-recipe, courtesy of my great Aunt Margie, but this time I tried Paula Dean’s version and I have to give her credit – she has a cooking show for a reason…

Peach Cobbler – Paula Dean style

Paula Dean Peach Cobbleri n g r e d i e n t s:

4 cups of peeled and sliced peaches
2 cups of sugar, divided
1/2 cup of water
8 tbsp. butter
1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
1 1/2 cups milk
Ground cinnamon, optional – but not really, you must use this

d i r e c t i o n s:

1.  Preheat oven to 350°.  Combine peaches, 1 cup of sugar and water within a saucepan and mix well.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.  Remove from heat.

2.  Place your stick of butter in a 3 quart baking dish and place in the oven until it melts.  Mix remaining 1 cup of sugar, flour and milk slowly to prevent clumping.  Pour mixture over melted butter WITHOUT STIRRING!  Spoon the fruit on top of your flour mixture and gently pour syrup on top.  I repeat – do not mix!  Sprinkle with cinnamon.

The batter will rise to the top during baking.  Bake for 30 to 45 minutes.

To serve, scoop onto a plate and serve with your choice of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream (I highly suggest Blue Bell ice cream if available).

* * *

PRINT 4 X 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

It’s so good, you’ll wish you could lick your plate.  Do you have a variation on this peach cobbler recipe?  Let me know your suggestions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

