Skip to content

Jerk Chicken with a dash of Change

July 28, 2010

This would be the first post.  Lots of pressure to have a cutesy heading, exciting copy and compelling subject matter.  Well, that’s not going to happen today.  My title – just the name of a recipe I tried, and the content – well it’s going to leave a lot to be desired, but you have to start somewhere, right?

My life is at the top of a cliff presently, and within the next few weeks I’ll be forced to jump off of it and free fall into my “new” life.  I’m moving to a new city where I don’t know anyone and my husband will be starting a new job which means I’ll have to find a new house, new church, new friends, new gym, new shops, new everything.  This scares me tremendously…I’ve never really been that good at change.

“The key to change is to let go of fear.”

Rosanne Cash

Or so they say.  So here is my attempt to deal with change.  In my attempts to desperately cleave to the life I’ve always known, I thought a blog would be a way for me to do the following:

1. Keep in touch with my everyone from my “old” life.

2. Explore a few passions and share them with the world (baking, cooking, decorating and of course designing).

3. Occupy my mind with positive things and distract me from the feelings of anxiety that will no doubt pack up and move with us.

So let’s get this ball rolling with a recipe, since cooking is one of my earliest passions – that without a doubt will be a comfort for me post-move.

Pineapple Jerk Chicken and Rice

Adapted from Rachel Ray Magazine

Chicken Dish

i n g r e d i e n t s:

2 cups brown rice – I prefer Minute Brown rice to save time
1/4 cup olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 jalapeño chile—stemmed, seeded and finely chopped
1 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 pineapple, cut into 3/4 inch pieces (about 3 cups)
1/2 cup jerk marinade
One 15 ounce can black beans, rinsed
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1/2 lime, squeezed

d i r e c t i o n s :

1.  In a large skillet, heat 2 tbsp olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and jalapeño and cook until the onion is browned, 7 minutes; transfer to a bowl.

2.  Add the remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil to the same skillet and increase the heat to medium-high. Season the chicken with salt and pepper, then add to the pan and cook until browned, 5 to 7 minutes. Drain any liquid from the pan.  (Begin cooking your instant rice according to box directions.)

3.  Add the pineapple and jerk marinade and simmer until the chicken is cooked through, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the onion mixture, black beans and cilantro; cook until the beans are heated through, about 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper, drizzle with lime juice and serve over the rice.

* * *

PRINT 4 X 6 RECIPE CARD HERE

This dish was delicious – and surprisingly, the hubs enjoyed it – who happens to be a very picky eater.  I like to believe that it reminded him of our lovely Jamaican honeymoon where every dish was “jerked.”  I used previously frozen chicken for this dish and after browning in the pan I didn’t think to drain the excess water that rendered from the chicken, which made it very soupy, so if you’re using frozen chicken – make sure to drain before adding your marinade!

If you have tried this recipe, please send your comments and suggestions.  Have a similar dish you’re willing to share?  E-mail me the recipe and help me keep myself busy!  I’d love to give it a try!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

